top of page

Taking Time to Write


We've all tried new things over this past year with all the time on our hands. We've baked bread, we've learned new skills, we've discovered how much Netlfix we can watch in one day. Me? I decided to write.


I've kept journals since I was little. Writing is a way for me to vent emotions, get ideas out of my head, and see them fleshed out, it helps me think. As a teacher, I've realized that not everyone loves to write. I tried to encourage my students to love it as much as I do. Though they may not all have loved writing, I did notice one similarity, they all had stories to tell. Even the mathematic and scientific-minded created interesting and funny stories. We all have stories to tell, and you never know when it's going to be the story someone needs to hear.


Maybe you don't like to write that much. Maybe you don't keep a journal. But I bet you have a story to tell, and writing may just become a kind of therapy for you. So, here are three tips to help you jump start your writing.


  1. Begin keeping a Journal- this can be digital or physical.

  2. Keep a notebook with you to record what you see when you see it.

  3. Creative Writing prompts. Maybe you're ready to start writing stories but don't know where to start- then find creative writing prompts! I've created some previously that you can find HERE.

Do you like to write? Comment below and let us know if you've tried any of these or if you have your own writing habit!

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page